top of page
Search

Oppression Through Sexism: the Wave Effect

This project explored the concept of oppression through sexism using the educational series Is Everyone Really Equal?: An Introduction to Key Concepts in Social Justice Education by Ozlem Sensoy and Robin DiAngelo. The paper discusses how institutions support the oppression of females. This creates a ripple effect that eventually develops into the wave of female oppression.

Writing this helped me develop not only a broader understanding how the concept itself, but also gave me the ability to openly discuss my personal argument on the topic.

I took the stance that women are undermined by men in several aspects of life from birth into the corporate world and marriage. Institutions support these ideals and this paper helped me write about my personal feelings and facts that I knew. By constantly seeing women as subordinate to men this idea becomes manifested in people’s subconscious, thus, creating a subconscious bias.

The revision process that I used introduced me to the Writing Center at Northeastern and I was able to utilize personal tutors that helped me learn and develop argumentative and analytic writing skills.






5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page